37 Years In the past, Kapil Dev Led India To Maiden International Cup Name Win

It was once on June 25, 1983, when India lifted their first-ever cricket International Cup name, defeating West Indies within the finals through 43 runs on the Lord’s Cricket Flooring. It’s now 37 years to India’s triumph within the event. The International Cup-winning crew was once led through all-rounder . India’s International Cup ultimate enjoying XI incorporated Sunil Gavaskar, Ok Srikkanth, Mohinder Amarnath, Yashpal Sharma, SM Patil, Kapil Dev (c), Kirti Azad, Roger Binny, Madan Lal, Syed Kirmani, and Balwinder Sandhu. After the win, cricket were given a fillip within the nation, raising the game to faith for lovers with each kid short of to turn into a cricketer.

Within the finals between India and West Indies, the latter received the toss and opted to bowl first.

The controlled to attain simply 183 runs as Andy Roberts took 3 wickets whilst Malcolm Marshall, Michael Keeping, and Larry Gomes picked up two wickets each and every.

For India, Kris Srikkanth top-scored as he performed a knock of 38 runs, aside from him, no different batsmen controlled to move previous the 30-run mark.

Protecting 183, India did a just right activity of retaining a take a look at at the Windies run go with the flow and Madan Lal then pushed aside the important thing batsmen Vivian Richards (33), decreasing Windies to 57/3.

Quickly after, the crew from the Caribbean was once diminished to 76/6 and India was once the favourites from there directly to win the name.

Mohinder Amarnath took the overall wicket of Michael Keeping to offer India its first-ever International Cup name win.

Within the finals, West Indies was once bowled out for 140, and because of this, India received the fit through 43 runs.

Kapil Dev lifting the trophy on the balcony of Lord’s Cricket Flooring nonetheless stays a picture to savour for all of the Indian lovers.

Within the finals, Mohinder Amarnath was once selected because the Guy of the Fit as he scored 26 runs with the bat and in addition picked up 3 wickets with the ball.

India has been the common player of the International Cup from its starting to the most recent version.

The primary version was once performed within the 12 months 1975 and from there on it has taken position after a span of each 4 years.

West Indies received the primary two International Cup titles (1975,1979) and was once the runner-up of 1983.

India has received the name two occasions, first in 1983 after which in 2011.


Concentrate to the , most effective on

captained the 2011 crew to win their 2nd name after 28 years.

Australia has received the event 5 occasions (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015).

Subjects discussed on this article

Get the most recent , take a look at the , . Like us on or practice us on for extra sports activities updates. You’ll be able to additionally obtain the NDTV Cricket app for or .

Supply hyperlink

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *