"Celebrated Fall Of Every Wicket": Sachin Tendulkar Recollects 1983 Global Cup Ultimate

Reminiscing concerning the , former India cricketer Sachin Tendulkar on Thursday stated that it was once a “landmark tournament in my lifestyles”. Nowadays, India is celebrating the finishing touch of  below the management of Kapil Dev. Tendulkar took to Twitter to put in writing, “The #WorldCup1983 Ultimate like for plenty of was once a landmark tournament in my lifestyles. Nonetheless recall my pals & I celebrating all wickets proper from BS Sandhu’s epic supply to Greenidge to Kapil Paaji’s catch. We jumped & celebrated the autumn of each and every wicket! What a night it was once.”

In 1983, the Global Cup ultimate was once performed between India and West Indies and the latter received the toss and opted to bowl first.

The Kapil Dev-led aspect controlled to attain simply 183 runs as Andy Roberts took 3 wickets whilst Malcolm Marshall, Michael Keeping, and Larry Gomes picked up two wickets each and every.

Protecting 183, India did a excellent task of preserving a test at the Windies run float, decreasing the aspect to 57/3.

Quickly after, the staff from the Caribbean was once diminished to 76/6 and India was once the favourites from there directly to win the name.

Mohinder Amarnath took the overall wicket of Michael Keeping to present India their first-ever Global Cup name win.

Within the finals, West Indies was once bowled out for 140, and consequently, India received the fit through 43 runs.

Kapil Dev lifting the trophy on the balcony of Lord’s Cricket Floor nonetheless stays a picture to savour for all of the Indian lovers.

Within the finals, Mohinder Amarnath was once selected because the Guy of the Fit as he scored 26 runs with the bat and likewise picked up 3 wickets with the ball.

India has been the common player within the Global Cup from its starting to the most recent version. The primary version was once held in 1975 and from there on, it has taken position after a span of each 4 years.

West Indies received the primary two Global Cup titles (1975, 1979) and had been the runners-up in 1983. India have received the name two instances, in 1983 and in 2011.


Concentrate to the , best on

MS Dhoni captained the 2011 staff to win their 2d name after 28 years.

Australia have received the match 5 instances (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015).

Subjects discussed on this article

Get the most recent , take a look at the , . Like us on or observe us on for extra sports activities updates. You’ll be able to additionally obtain the NDTV Cricket app for or .

Supply hyperlink

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *